Drive Of Pride

I can’t believe I have to say this twice in one week to Peace, but you are right. (Hurts my pride.)

Clapper came over after his long day at work. And I really do mean long day. He didn’t make it to my apartment until midnight. But he did in fact keep his promise and we got to hang out. All night in fact.

For an hour or so we talked. Well he talked. I made off hand remarks and laughed. He makes me laugh a lot. Then he suddenly announced, “You have 9 minutes to do what you got to do and then we are going to bed.”

Alright.

I decided not to fight it. I finished my wine, washed my glass, and got ready for bed. We crawled in bed together and the thought of bumping uglies never even crossed my mind. (Shocking.) I laid down on my right side like I always do.

“Are you really going to lay with your back to me so I can’t kiss you?”

Um. Whoops? I didn’t know that was an option. So I rolled over and we chatted some. I was mid sentence when he cut me off announcing, “I’m going to kiss you.” And then he did. My heart nearly leaped out of my chest. And it did each time he kissed me.

But I didn’t panic. I may have stopped breathing but I didn’t panic.

I relaxed and fell into a deep sleep. It was normal. I didn’t think about it. I fit just right in the crook of his arm, which also made an excellent pillow since he took 4 of the 5 I have on my bed.

He rarely moved and he didn’t snore. He randomly would squeeze me tight in the middle of the night. I’d wake up to sneeze (and yes I did blow my nose in front of him), and when I rolled back toward him, he would kiss me on the forehead. I made a note to sneeze more often.

Clapper was very affectionate but didn’t push his limits. He stayed within the boundaries. He made no effort to do more than just kiss me, which I greatly appreciate.

When we woke up this morning it wasn’t awkward. He rolled over and kissed me on the forehead just because he could. It was the weirdest thing ever. My usual reaction is to play along and get the guy up and out of my house quickly without making it look that way. But I didn’t want him to go.

I actually wanted to spend time with Clapper. It was a mindless reaction and completely emotional. (Ew.) I never second guessed it because my gut told me that it was ok.

But him staying was not an option. He had to go to work. We got up, made light conversation. During which he pondered how many honks he’d get on his walk of shame. He quickly corrected himself noting that it really wasn’t a walk of shame if he liked it. I told him it was the drive of pride, even though he was walking. (Thank you Ms. EatsPlentyOfCheeseburgers.)

He kissed me and left. It wasn’t a goodbye. It was an I’ll see you later.

And it feels right.

One thought on “Drive Of Pride

  1. Ms. EatsPlentyOfCheeseburgers says:

    Dying. Laughing. Started with title, continued with story. Well played, Nelson.

Leave a Reply

