Board Games

I don’t have a TV in my apartment (by choice), so I definitely remember board games. When people come over and we have run out of things to talk about, I’ll point to the bottom of the bookshelf and ask, “Which game would you like to play?” Boy do I get some strange looks from people like the games are the plague or something. But really, are we so dependent on TV and we can’t manage to play a board game and carry on an intellectual conversation?

You’ll be surprised how many younger people lack the ability to carry on a normal conversation about anything. And the changing of topics…HA!…good luck. We are so technology dependent that we are unlearning our basic skills.

Put down the phone, turn off the TV, and walk away from the computer. It will do you more good in the long run.

Remember Playing Board Games? Remember playing board games? I do. When I was a child we did not have HBO or video games or a computer, so if I wanted to have fun I had to either set something on fire or play a board game. Candy Land was where I matched my wits against other members of my family.  The object was to advance your piece along the path until you reached the gum drop castle or you got up and quit in a huff because it looked like your little brother was going to get … Read More

via Schlabadoo

Leave a Reply

