It’s A Southern “Tradition”

Excuse me for just a moment, but I need to get on my soap box and preach like the southern baptist family that I come from. I woke up yesterday morning and saw the flag (above) flying outside of my window. At first I was very confused, but then I just got really angry.

It turns out that my town is celebrating Robert E. Lee and Stonewall Jackson’s birthdays…all week. I posted my picture on Facebook, and got some feed back, one of which was a very ignorant comment. “Hey. It’s Robert E. Lee’s birthday. It’s okay!”

I got a little heated at this comment which prompted my passionate response, “Lee’s birthday isn’t until next Wednesday and Jackson’s is next Friday, so why we need to celebrate this in advance (for the whole week) seems a bit off. Plus, do we celebrate an American president’s birthday for more than a day? Nope.” Forgive me, but doing what you want with them personally is one thing, but supporting it as a city. Eh, kinda toeing the line on that one. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m from the south and I see the flag as a sign of heritage, but due to the incredible ignorance of others, most do not.

Ok. Getting off the soap box.

Leave a Reply

