Givers and Takers

You rep what you sow has never been more true. I believe there are two types of people in this world: givers and takers. Takers gladly take whatever you give them without the guilt of feeling like they need to give back. It is not a give and take world with them. Rather it’s a do what  you can to get ahead world. Longterm, this is a way of life that will backfire on you. You can only take so much before people get tired of giving.

Givers on the other hand give with out the expectation of receiving. This is me. I give away my time, my happiness, my energy, my politeness, my money, my space, and my sex to make others happy. It makes me happy to please others. As whorish as that can sound in some contexts, the only thing I want to do is make a better quality of life for others. Giving with all of your heart will pay off in years to come. People are more willing to help you, when you have shown compassion for them. Recommendations for jobs will speak volumes when important people give you high remarks.

For one month, do something once a day that is completely selfless. Whether it’s buying food for the homeless man on the road or helping your father with a backyard project, you will feel better about yourself for providing for others. Personally, it’s always better to be a giver. I don’t have it tattooed on my body for the hell of it.

Leave a Reply

